Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join Us
Community Search
Who We Are
Share |

Board of Directors 


President: Tami Lunsford, Newark Charter Jr/Sr High School, Newark, DE

President-Elect: Dave Bader, Aquarium of the Pacific

Past President: Robert Rocha, New Bedford Whaling Museum, New Bedford, MA

Treasurer: Jackie Takacs, Maryland Sea Grant - Extension, Upper Marlboro, MD

Secretary: Sarah Richards, Saint Ann's School, Brooklyn, NY


Kate Achilles. (2016-19), NOAA Fisheries Service, La Jolla, CA 

Linda Chilton (2016-2017) University of Southern California Sea Grant Program, Los Angeles, CA

David Christopher (2015-18), National Aquarium in Baltimore, Baltimore, MD

Laura Diederick (2014-17), Smithsonian Marine Station, Ft. Pierce, FL

Kanesa Duncan-Seraphin (2016-2019) University of Hawaii Sea Grant, Honolulu, HI

Geraldine Fauville (2016-19), University of Gothenburg, Sweden

Catherine Halversen (2014-17), Lawrence Hall of Science, Berkeley, CA

Meghan Marrero (2015-18), Mercy College, Dobbs Ferry, NY

Sean Russell (2015-18), Stow-it-Don't-Throw-It Project, Florida

Chapter Representatives

Florida Marine Science Educators Association (FMSEA): Mellie Lewis, Key LargoFL

Georgia Association of Marine Education (GAME): Beth Palmer, Tybee Island Marine Science Center, GA

Great Lakes Educators of Aquatic and Marine Science (GLEAMS)

Gulf of Maine Marine Education Association (GOMMEA): Kate Leavitt, Seacoast Science Center, Rye, NH

Mid-Atlantic Marine Educators Association (MAMEA): Kathy Fuller, MD

Massachusetts Marine Educators (MME): Sandi Ryack-Bell, Museum Institute for Teaching Science, Quincy, MA

Northwest Aquatic and Marine Educators (NAME): William (Bill) Hanshumaker, Oregon State University/Hatfield Marine Science Center/Oregon Sea Grant, Newport, OR

New Jersey Marine Educators Association (NJMEA): Kaitlin Gannon, Rutgers, Jacques Cousteau National Estuarine Research Reserve, Tuckerton, NJ

New York State Marine Educators Association (NYSMEA): Dale Stanley, Garden City, NY

OCEANIA (Hawai'i and Pacific Islands): Patty Miller, NOAA, Honolulu, HI

Southern Association of Marine Educators (SAME): Jessica Kastler, Marine Education Center, Gulf Coast Research Lab, MS

South Carolina Marine Educators Association (SCMEA): Jaime Thom, South Carolina Aquarium, Charleston, SC

Southeastern New England Marine Educators (SENEME): Lauren Rader, Project Oceanology, Groton, CT

Southwest Marine Educators Association (SWMEA): Emily Arnold, Birch Aquarium at Scripps Institution of Oceanography, La Jolla, CA

Tennessee Educators of Aquatic and Marine Science (TEAMS): David Wehunt, Soddy Daisy High School, Soddy Daisy, TN

Texas Marine Educators Association (TMEA): Marolyn Smith, Austin, TX

Committee Chairs

Operations Pod

Bylaws: David Christopher

Chapters: Dave Bader, Chair; Mellie Lewis, Vice Chair

Executive: Robert Rocha 

Finance: Jackie Takacs

Grants and Development: Kristin Evans

History: Sarah Richards 

Communications Pod

Outreach: Vacant

Current: Meghan Marrero

Social Media: Vacant 

Technology: Allie Toomey

Stakeholders Pod

Expanding Audiences: DJ Kast 

International: Peter Tuddenham

Membership: Lynn Whitley

NSTA Liaison: Mellie Lewis

Issues and Trends Pod

Conservation: Sarah Wilson

Education/Research: Jenny East and Kelly Riedinger

Ocean Literacy: Craig Strang

Traditional Knowledge: Sylvia Spalding and Linda Chilton

Events Pod

Awards: David Wehunt

Conference: Chris Verlinde 

Scholarship: Kate Achilles 

Ad Hoc Johnette Bosarge Memorial Award: Jessica Kastler

National Office

National Office Manager: Jeannette Connors, Email, Phone: 844-OUR-NMEA

National Office Coordinator: Adam Frederick

Contracted Staff

Social Media Community Manager & Editor: Lisa Tossey, Email

Current Editor: Lisa Tooker, Email

To see the profiles on members of the Board of Directors, use the Site Search function in the upper right of any page on the website.

For a full listing with contact information, download the Directory > 



Sign In


6/25/2017 » 6/29/2017
NMEA (National Marine Educators Association) 2017 Annual Conference